General NewsColumnsWeatherCivicsEconomyVarietyPuzzles • Faith •  Health & Wellness Saluting our MilitarySportsKudosRecipes
GTR News Online GTR NewsOnline Union Boundary Midtown Monitor Jenks District Gazette Broken Arrow Express Owasso Rambler Bixby Breeze
Mazzios Hebert's Specialty Meats

Today Is

Greater Tulsa Reporter

Alison Anthony Named 2017 Vision Honoree

EDUCATION LEADERSHIP: Alison Anthony is being honored for her local and national contributions to education, diversity, inclusion and community development. The evening will also mark the 10th anniversary of Tulsa Achieves.  

Courtesy photo

The Tulsa Community College Foundation has named Alison Anthony as the 2017 Vision in Education Leadership Award recipient. As president of the Williams Companies Foundation, Inc., and director of strategic outreach for Williams, she is being honored for her local and national contributions to education, diversity inclusion, and community development.

The evening will also mark the 10th anniversary of Tulsa Achieves, a program that served as a nationwide model for free public higher education. Created in 2007, Tulsa Achieves is a gap funded program that has assisted more than 15,000 students in attending college and covers tuition and fees after federal student aid is exhausted.

Anthony will be recognized for her contributions at the annual Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner Thursday, Sept. 14 at the Cox Business Center in downtown Tulsa. A reception will begin at 6 p.m. with dinner to follow at 7 p.m. The 2017 Vision honorary co-chairs are Michael and Libby Johnson. Jim Langdon and Steve Turnbo will serve as the dinner committee co-chairs.

“Anthony’s work in the areas of education, volunteerism and community involvement makes the Tulsa area a better place to live,” TCC President and CEO Leigh B. Goodson, Ph.D. says. “We have all benefitted from this hard-working leader who steps forward with innovative ideas, is not afraid to take risks on behalf of others, and connects people for collaborative solutions.”

Anthony is an inclusive leader who consistently embraces the responsibility of supporting education initiatives for Tulsa and Williams, including the Tulsa Regional STEM Alliance and the TCC Engineering Alliance. Recently, she helped to showcase Oklahoma STEM efforts when Williams and the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation co-hosted the National STEM Funders’ Network in Tulsa.

In addition to honoring Anthony, the evening will showcase the success of Tulsa Achieves and how our community has been shaped by a program that provides a college degree path for qualified graduating high school seniors living in Tulsa County.
Funds raised from the TCC Foundation Vision Dinner provide TCC students with scholarships, leadership development opportunities, engagement and mentoring with academic scholars and leaders, and technology and equipment necessary to prepare for today’s work force. The TCC Foundation 2017 Board Chair is Alana R. Hughes, chief operating officer, Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation.

“TCC Foundation scholarships provide the critical link to students between their educational aspirations and their accomplishments,” says Lauren Brookey, TCC vice president of external affairs and president of the TCC Foundation. “In the last 10 years, we’ve increased our scholarship giving and tripled the amount we give each year to students.”

The 2017 Vision Dinner sponsorship levels are $25,000 for Visionary, $10,000 for Leadership, $5,000 for Excellence, $3,000 for Achievement and $1,500 for Dedication.
Leadership sponsors include Robin Ballenger, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma, Cherokee Nation Businesses, Cox Communications, Michael and Libby Johnson, and SemGroup. In addition, the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation has issued a challenge sponsorship and will match a $25,000 Visionary sponsorship.

The Vision Award is presented annually to an individual dedicated to education excellence and community leadership. The 2017 TCC Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner committee members are Carlin Conner, Andy Kinslow, Mina Lotti, Henry Primeaux, Roger Ramseyer and Paul Samuels.

Past honorees include Keith Ballard, David Boren, Montie Box, U.S. Representative Tom Cole, Susan Harris, former Governor Brad Henry, Jake Henry Jr., George Kaiser, Paula Marshall, Lynn and Stacy Schusterman, Don Walker, and John-Kelly C. Warren.
For information regarding sponsorships and tickets to the 2017 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner, call 918-595-7836 or visit

Updated 07-24-2017

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News


  • Ihloff Salon & Day Spa