General NewsColumnsWeatherCivicsEconomyVarietyPuzzles • Faith •  Health & Wellness Saluting our MilitarySportsKudosRecipes
GTR News Online GTR NewsOnline Union Boundary Midtown Monitor Jenks District Gazette Broken Arrow Express Owasso Rambler Bixby Breeze
Mazzios Hebert's Specialty Meats

Today Is

Greater Tulsa Reporter

Rose District Revitalization Honored

The efforts that led to the revitalization of Broken Arrow’s Main Street, known as the Rose District, have earned another honor – finalist for the Route Fifty Navigator Awards.

Now in its third year, the Route Fifty’s Navigator Awards “celebrate the best of government” by honoring people or teams who work for or with state, county or municipal governments. Route Fifty names 50 finalists across five categories.
Broken Arrow was nominated under “The Electeds” category, which recognizes the leaders in a state or local government who drive change in the communities they serve. Mayor Craig Thurmond was nominated for his work championing the Main Street renaissance.

“This nomination may carry my name on it, but the renewal in the Rose District was a collaborative effort by many different entities,” Thurmond said. “I don’t consider this recognition a personal victory but rather a deserving recognition of what Broken Arrow has achieved through the cooperation of the City, Broken Arrow Public Schools, the Broken Arrow Chamber, private investors and of course the residents of the City. The Rose District would not be what it is today without everyone working together.”
The other nine finalists in The Electeds category were:

Bob Berkowitz, County Supervisor, Del Norte County, Calif.: “Daily Town Hall”; Carol L. Blood, Nebraska District 3 State Senator: VA audiology machines; Rafael Castellanos, Chairman, Port of San Diego: “Blue Economy” incubator; Bob Culver, County Executive, Wicomico County, Md.: Community Outreach Addictions Team; Nathan Deal, Governor, State of Georgia: Georgia Cyber Innovation and Training Center; Amanda Edwards, Council member At-Large, City of Houston: Hurricane Harvey recovery; Annissa Essaibi-George, City Councilor At-Large, Boston: reducing homelessness and improving education outcomes for families in Boston; Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins, Alaska District 35 State Representative: rural economic development; Chris MacArthur, City Council member, Riverside, Calif.: GrowRIVERSIDE Initiative.

Essaibi-George and Kreiss-Tomkins were named the category winners at a celebration on Nov. 7 in Los Angeles.

Updated 01-18-2019

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News


  • Miss Helen's