General NewsColumnsWeatherCivicsEconomyVarietyPuzzles • Faith •  Health & Wellness Saluting our MilitarySportsKudosRecipes
GTR News Online GTR NewsOnline Union Boundary Midtown Monitor Jenks District Gazette Broken Arrow Express Owasso Rambler Bixby Breeze

Owasso Rambler


OHS Mock Trial Teams Place at Statewide Competition

SOTOMAYOR TEAM: Owasso High School’s Sotomayor mock trial team members hold their second-place trophies at the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Competition. The O’Connor and the Ginsburg team, both from Owasso High School, placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

At the the Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Competition, held in March, Owasso High School’s three mock trial teams competed to place second, fourth and fifth in semifinal and final competition.

Owasso High School’s Sotomayor team was defeated by Jenks High School’s 6th Horn team to finish as runner-up in the finals of the 2017 Oklahoma High School Mock Trial Championship.

Owasso High School’s O’Connor team placed fourth and the Ginsburg team placed fifth in the semifinals.

The final round of competition involved a case that focused on the civil prosecution of a drilling company whose fracking was thought to be the cause of a 6.2 magnitude earthquake that destroyed the downtown of Wheatville.

Owasso High School’s Maggie Murphy received a “best attorney” award, and Owasso’s Emma Donohue was named as a “best witness.”

The judges evaluated the students based on their familiarity of the case and the formulation of their arguments. Students received points for each phase of the trial, opening, direct and cross examination, closing argument and how well their witnesses responded. Teams are paired with volunteer attorney coaches. The Owasso teams were coached by attorneys Michon Hughes, Clint Hastings, Deirdre Dexter, Rob Ridenour and teacher Kathy Rutherford.

Owasso High School’s Sotomayor team members are Tyler Owens, Maggie Murphy, Emma Donohue, Avery Hendel, Lauren Hughes, Kyler Patton, Briya Malone, Kelly O’Connor, Hannah Butts and Grace Nosak.

O’Connor team members are Maggie Hazzelrigg, Ronan Locker, Morgan Meyer, Kennedy Patterson, Logan Schofield, Katy Turner, Aidan Harbaugh, Wes Hunter and Zoe Boschee.

Ginsburg team members are Presley Stephens, Ciara Locker, Emma Ridenour, Tiffany Aguilar, Jenna Randall, Kyndal Baker, Aidan McCormick, Logan Finders, Carson Ball and Robbie Reardon.

“The Mock Trial Program provides students with an opportunity to gain a unique insider’s perspective of the American legal process,” says Linda Thomas, Oklahoma Bar Association of Bartlesville.

In May, Jenks High School will represent Oklahoma at the national competition in Hartford, Connecticut.

Of the 34 teams across the state that began competing in January, the other top finishers were sixth-place winner Bishop Kelley High School; in seventh place Jenks High School’s Tremors team; and in eighth place Broken Arrow High School.
The Mock Trial Program is sponsored and funded by the Oklahoma Bar Foundation and the Oklahoma Bar Association Young Lawyers Division. Nearly 400 judges and attorneys volunteered their time to work with mock trial teams as coaches and to conduct the competitions.

Updated 04-06-2017

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News


  • OSU Tulsa