General NewsColumnsWeatherCivicsEconomyVarietyPuzzles • Faith •  Health & Wellness Saluting our MilitarySportsKudosRecipes
GTR News Online GTR NewsOnline Union Boundary Midtown Monitor Jenks District Gazette Broken Arrow Express Owasso Rambler Bixby Breeze

Owasso School News

Owasso Rambler


Owasso School Board Welcomes New Member


Neal Kessler, father of four Owasso Public Schools students, will be installed to the Owasso School Board of Education Ward 3 seat on March 12.

Read More

Teachers of the Year Announced

Congratulations to Owasso Public Schools’ 2017-18 Teachers of the Year!
They are:

• Ator Elementary – Kelli Yost

• Bailey Elementary – Betty Wright
• Barnes Elementary – Mary Eidson
• Hodson Elementary – Lori Armon
• Mills Elementary – Brad Dishman
• Northeast Elementary – Elizabeth Lacirignola
• Smith Elementary – Kaleigh Rice
• Stone Canyon Elementary – Jennifer Emmons
• 6th Grade Center – Brandie Davenport
•7th Grade Center – Jennifer Farley
• 8th Grade Center – Nick Mendez
• Owasso High School West – Stacie Cordray
• Owasso High School East – Jonathan Holloway

Read More

Owasso Honors School Board Member

RETIREMENT CAKE: On Feb. 12, Owasso school and community members celebrated Gail Ballinger’s 15 years of school board service with a party, gifts and a cake. Ballinger is a 30-year retired educator, who taught for 18 years with Owasso Public Schools.

Read More

Students Receive NSU Honor

Northeastern State University recently announced the students named to its President’s and Dean’s honor rolls.

To be included on the President’s Honor Roll, students must have held a 4.0 grade point average for the fall 2017 semester.

Read More

Getting to Know the Owasso Schools Board of Education


The Owasso Public Schools Board of Education is responsible for establishing the policies under which the district operates. The board must act within the framework of state and federal laws and still be responsible to the needs of the Owasso community.
The school board is made up of five members: Gail Ballinger, Brent England, Rhonda Mills, Frosty Turpen and Pat Vanatta.

Read More

Owasso School Bond Vote: Oct. 10


On Oct. 10, Owasso Public Schools patrons will go to the polls regarding passage of the largest school bond issue to date: $57 million.

The bond issue, if passed, will include construction of a new elementary school, the addition of two safe rooms to existing schools, and technology and facility upgrades.
In the order of dollar amount, the bond issue items are:

Read More

Owasso Grad Hones Music Skills

COLLEGE CAMP: Owasso High School graduate Abby Simons spent a portion of her summer attending Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s eighth annual Marimba Camp on its Weatherford campus. The camp allowed students to gain an overview of the technical requirements and music potential of four-mallet marimba playing in a fun camp setting, noted SWOSU Music Department Chair and Professor Dr. David Bessinger.

Read More

Owasso All-Stater

ACADEMIC ACCOLADES: Jaya Chakka, a 2017 Academic All-Stater, is congratulated by best-selling author and historian H.W. Brands, left, and Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence trustee Robert Henry prior to the foundation’s 31st Academic Awards Banquet, held recently in Tulsa. Chakka, a 2017 Owasso High School graduate, was among 100 Oklahoma seniors who were honored by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. Chakka received a scholarship sponsored by Jari Askins. Brands served as keynote speaker at the banquet and Henry as emcee.

Read More

Owasso Grad Receives NSU Award

In April, Owasso High School graduate Rachel Jackson was honored with Northeastern State University’s Jack Kaufman Senior of Distinction award during the inaugural Kaufman Medal Reception in downtown Tulsa.

Read More

| Previous Articles

Back to Top

Contact GTR News


  • Ihloff Salon & Day Spa
  • OSU Tulsa
  • Edward Jones
  • Edward Jones