General NewsColumnsWeatherCivicsEconomyVarietyPuzzles • Faith •  Health & Wellness Saluting our MilitarySportsKudosRecipes
GTR News Online GTR NewsOnline Union Boundary Midtown Monitor Jenks District Gazette Broken Arrow Express Owasso Rambler Bixby Breeze

Union Boundary

Union Seniors Earn Scholarships

NATIONAL MERIT: Seven seniors have been named 2016-2017 National Merit Scholarship winners at Union High School: Wade Witcher, Bella Zhan, Timothy McMullen, Abigail Cornett, Colton Benningfield, Stephanie Royer and Daniel Royer.

Courtesy Union Public Schools

Seven Union High School seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship winners: Abigail Cornett, Wade Witcher, Bella Zhan, Timothy McMullen, Daniel Royer, Stephanie Royer and Colton Benningfield. These students will receive between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at a higher education institution.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of approximately 7,500 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $32 million.

Over 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.
In the fall, 16,000 semifinalists were named, who were the highest-scoring program entrants in each state and represented less than one percent of the nation’s seniors.

To compete for Merit Scholarship awards, semifinalists were asked to submit a detailed scholarship application, which included writing an essay and providing information about extracurricular activities, awards, and leadership positions. Semifinalists also had to have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and earn SAT scores that confirmed the qualifying test performance. From the semifinalist group, some 15,000 were named finalists.

NMSC, a not-for-profit corporation that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships provided each year are made possible by the support of approximately 420 independent corporate and college sponsors. These sponsors join NMSC in its efforts to enhance educational opportunities for America’s scholastically talented youth and to encourage the pursuit of academic excellence.

Updated 06-17-2017

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News


  • Edward Jones
  • Miss Helen's