Alumni, Friends Gather toCelebrate ‘Best of TCC’ 2006

ALUMNI HONORED: Dr. Tom McKeon, president and CEO of Tulsa Community College; Rep. Jabar Shumate, Best of TCC Keynote Speaker and Dr. Loren Gresham, president of Southern Nazarene University recently gathered to celebrate the many achievements of TCC alumni.

GTR Newspapers photo

Tulsa Community College Alumni and Friends Association celebrated the achievements of 24 of the college’s most distinguished alumni at the eighth annual Best of TCC event May 18 at the Renaissance Tulsa Hotel. A fundraiser for the Tulsa Community College Alumni and Friends Association, this year’s presenting sponsor for the Best of TCC was Southern Nazarene University Tulsa.

The Best of TCC honorees for 2006 were: Paula Baker, Jenks Alternative Center counselor; Pamela Baney, Tulsa Technology Center clinical coordinator; Jonathon Bates, Williams property manager; Ernest Bourget, TCC horticulture paraprofessional; Elizabeth Cartwright, John Zink Company LLP project management; Connie Cochran, Tulsa Technology Center radiology technology instructor; Dr. Murray Crow, family practice physician; Dr. Tobey Crow, OSU Center for Health Sciences family practice intern; Debra McPherson-Dedeaux, TCC executive assistant; Sheryl Dunbar, Dollar Thrifty administrator; Craig Higgins, J.D. Young Company logistics division manager; Katy Johnson, Indian Healthcare Resource Center of Tulsa x-ray technologist; Joel Kelly, Hampton Creative senior graphic designer; Marci Little, St. John Medical Center human resource information systems; Harold Gene McCoy, Tulsa assistant fire chief; Oklahoma State Representative Jeannie McDaniel; Shannon Paynter, TCC administrative assistant; Jeff Rains, QuikTrip benefits representative; Nila Ricks, MSW, Dayspring behavioral health services therapist; Scott Roberson, Automotive Components Holding LLC, lean manufacturing coach; Rodrigo Romero, Automotive Components Holding LLC, human resources associate; Dr. John Stepanek, Claremore Regional Hospital emergency room physician; Casie Treat, QuikTrip purchasing systems coordinator; and Patricia Whitfield, Tulsa Public Schools-Hawthorne Elementary School teacher.

A portion of the proceeds from the Best of TCC event fund the Alumni & Friends Scholarships awarded each year. Four TCC Alumni and Friends scholarship winners were announced and recognized. Those recipients were: Kristy Biesen, Joseph LaValley, Leah Pickard, and Toby Poleszak. SNU President Dr. Loren Gresham announced the creation of two scholarships to be awarded to TCC transfer students, Sandy Boman and Amy Howard.

The keynote speaker for the evening was State Representative Jabar Shumate. Rep. Shumate urged guests at the dinner to support the efforts of higher education. He added that community colleges like TCC provide opportunities for students of all walks of life.

Special guests of the Best of TCC event included: superintendent and CEO of Tulsa Technology Center, Dr. Gene Callahan; chairman TCC board of regents, Robert F. Burton Sr.; TCC Foundation trustee, Dennis Ervin; SNU Tulsa director, Dr. Anne Ghost Bear; and SNU dean of graduate and professional studies, Dr. Davis Berryman.

Members of TCC’s Signature Quartet and pianist Amy Cottingham provided entertainment for the event.

Updated 06-27-2006

Back to Top


Back to Top

Contact GTR News