Andrea Riley Named 2010 Nancy Lieberman Award Winner

DETROIT, Mich. – Oklahoma State¹s Andrea Riley has been named the 2010
recipient of the Nancy Lieberman Award it was announced today by the Rotary
Club of Detroit.

The award recognizes the nation¹s top collegiate point guard in women¹s
Division I basketball. The criteria for the award are the floor leadership,
play-making and ball-handling skills that personified Hall of Famer Nancy
Lieberman during her career. Sportswriters from across the country
determined the award winner and finalists.

³It is an honor to win such a prestigious award. I could not have achieved
this without my family, teammates and coaching staff,² Riley said. ³It makes
it even more special to win an award named after Nancy Lieberman because she
has been a great friend and inspiration to me.²

A second-team Associated Press All-American, Riley finished her senior
season as the nation¹s second leading scorer at 26.7 points per game.
Riley¹s scoring average led the Big 12 by more than six points per game and
made her the first player to pace the conference in scoring three times.

Riley also finished seventh nationally and first in the Big 12 with her 6.5
assists per game.

The Dallas, Texas native scored 909 points this past season, which stands as
the 10th-best single-season total in history. Additionally, she tallied
220 assists, which stands as the fourth-best single-season total in Big 12

Riley scored 40 points on three occasions this season, all of which came
against ranked teams. She now has four of the top six scoring games in
league history.

A three-time All-Big 12 pick, she also dished out 17 assists to tie the
league¹s single-game record.

The 5-5 guard led the Cowgirls to a 24-11 mark this past season and their
third Tournament berth in the last four years.

Riley finished her career with 2,835 points, the 13th-best total in
history and 707 assists, which ranks first all time in school history.

It was announced yesterday she was one of 14 players invited to next week¹s
Draft where it is expected she will become the first player in program
history taken in the draft.

The other three finalists for the award were Samantha Prahalis of Ohio
State, Oklahoma¹s Danielle Robinson and Courtney Vandersloot of Gonzaga.

Year Winner School
2009 Renee Montgomery Connecticut
2008 Kristi Toliver Maryland
2007 Lindsey Harding Duke
2006 Ivory Latta North Carolina
2005 Temeka Johnson
2004 Diana Taurasi Connecticut
2003 Diana Taurasi Connecticut
2002 Sue Bird Connecticut
2001 Sue Bird Connecticut
2000 Sue Bird Connecticut

Updated 04-02-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author