Annual Headliners Awards to Honor Sharon Daugherty and Steadman Upham

Shelley Campbell, community relations director, Tulsa Press Club, and Jeremy Burton and Missy Kruse, co-chairs, invite Tulsans to the Tulsa Press Club Headliners event “You’re the Tops”, honoring Steadman Upham, president of The University of Tulsa, and Sharon Daugherty, pastor of Victory Christian Center. The event is May 10, 6:30 p.m. at the CityPlex Towers, 2488 E. 81st St. For ticket information, call 918-583-7737 or email

Every year, the Tulsa Press Club honors outstanding Tulsans who have made an impact on their local community.

This year’s Tulsa Press Club Headliners are Sharon Daugherty, co-founder and pastor of Victory Christian Center, and Steadman Upham, Ph.D., president of Tulsa University. They will be recognized at a fundraising dinner May 10 at the Cityplex Towers. The evening will feature a reception, dinner and special presentation.

“The Press Club has been privileged to be associated with some of the biggest local names in business, philanthropic and civic leadership through our Headliners event,” said President Mike Miller. “This year is the same. It’s our pleasure to honor two great Tulsans, Sharon and Steadman.”

The club defines Headliners as “truly outstanding civic, business, professional and industrial leaders whose unselfish contribution to the growth, welfare and culture of Tulsa have made them Headliners in every sense of the word.”

Daugherty founded Victory Christian with her late husband, Pastor Billy Joe Daugherty. Victory Christian Center operates a school for 1,300 students, has summer camps, local and worldwide outreach missions, an international Bible institute, youth programs, and a community health clinic. It also includes job fairs for those looking for employment. The church is one of the largest in the world and has more than 17,000 members.

Upham assumed the Tulsa University presidency in 2004 and is scheduled to retire from the post in June 2012. His administration has been highlighted by strengthening academic quality of students and faculty, maintaining strong enrollment, adding more than a million square feet of state-of-the-art facilities, and preserving fiscal stability without layoffs or program cuts during one of the most turbulent economic times in U.S. history. Working alongside the TU Board of Trustees, he also oversaw the university’s largest comprehensive campaign, which has raised more than $500 million to date

Honorary co-chair Dr. Mark Rutland, president of Oral Roberts University, will introduce Daugherty, and Honorary co-chair Steve Turnbo, chairman emeritus of Schnake Turnbo Frank PR and 2011 Headliner recipient, will introduce Upham.

These new honorees join a prestigious group. Previous Headliners include Keith Bailey, Henry Bellmon, Chester Cadieux, Nancy Day, Dr. Walter Hultgren, Stan Lybarger, Wilma Mankiller, Michael Wallis, Henry Zarrow and many others.

The dinner is a fundraiser for the Tulsa Press Club and its foundation, which provides scholarships to Oklahoma journalism and communication college students. Event co-chairs are Jeremy Burton, director of public relations for Oral Roberts University, and Missy Kruse, president of Write-Co. Other committee members include Susan Ellerbach, Paula Hall Collins, Melani Hamilton, Michael McCulloh, Mercedes Millberry, Ashley Parrish and Amanda Thrash.

For information about sponsorships or tickets, contact the Tulsa Press Club at or 918-583-7737.

Updated 04-06-2012

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author