Backel Receives Prentice Gautt Scholarship

NORMAN, Okla. — Amy Backel was named one of 24 Big 12 Athletes selected to receive 2009-10 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships, the conference announced Tuesday. Backel, the Big 12 champion in the javelin, was one of two Oklahoma athletes to receive the honor, joining wrestling’s Kyle Terry.

The honor is the latest in many academic honors for the two-time the Magazine Academic All-American. Backel, the 2010 College of Engineering Outstanding Civil Engineering Senior, is also a four-time member of the Academic All-Big 12 team and a three-time the Magazine Academic All-District team member.

Backel is currently in Eugene, Ore., with other members of the Oklahoma Track and Field program in preparation for the 2010 Outdoor Track and Field Championships, scheduled to begin tomorrow with Backel competing in Saturday’s javelin final. It marks the third straight year that Backel has qualified for the meet.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services’ pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 249 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

To date the Big 12 has provided $1,655,600 for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999, increased to $6,900 for 2004-05 and climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee’s respective institution and completion of athletics’ eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.

Updated 06-09-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author