Congregation B’nai Emunah Celebrates 90 Years

SUCCESSFUL GALA: Enjoying the festivities related to the 90th anniversary of Congregation B’nai Emunah are, from left, Nancy Cohen, chair of the 90th anniversary celebration; Adi Kalika, co-chair; Jenny Brouse, honorary chair; and Molly Berger, co-chair.

GTR Newspapers photo

Congregation B’nai Emunah’s held its 90th Anniversary Gala Celebration Saturday, Nov. 18 at the synagogue located at 17th Street and Peoria Avenue.

The celebration honored the congregation’s nine decades of Jewish education, worship, and social service. The theme of the event was “Dorot: Generations,” a tribute to the synagogue’s success in ensuring continuity and shared Jewish experience.
The celebration focused on the faces and voices of synagogue members, from founding members to current membership.
Gala chairs included Chairperson Nancy Cohen and Co-Chairs Molly Berger, Terry Marcum and Adi Kalika.

Jenny Brouse, long-time member of the congregation, has been selected as the Honorary Chairperson for the celebration. Mrs. Brouse, co-owner with her son Brian Brouse of Brouse’s in Utica Square, has served the congregation in many capacities and continues an active involvement in Synagogue worship and programming.

President of the congregation, David Charney, hosted the evening’s program where all the synagogue’s past presidents were recognized for their leadership, generosity, foresight and commitment to the congregation.

The evening began with a champagne reception in the synagogue lobby, featuring architectural artifacts and mementos from the synagogue’s history. Guests sampled video recordings on several screens.

The banquet, featuring a menu created by Tulsa chefs Tuck Curren and Tim Richards of the Bodean family of restaurants, featured an audio-visual presentation entitled “Le-Dor va-Dor: From Generation to Generation.” This presentation, produced by Heather Lewin and her committee, Terry Marcum and Adi Kalika, included photographs, reminiscences and stories of B’nai Emunah members.

Following dinner and presentations, the Mike Bennett Orchestra, with soloist Sharon Moguin, played music for dancing.
Sponsors for the 90th Anniversary Celebration include the Zarrow Family Foundation, Lynn Schusterman, and Stacy Schusterman and Steven Dow.

The Dinner Committee was Molly Berger, Larry Schreier and Hilary Zarrow. Patty Watt and Cookie Goodall Kaiser chaired decorations Committee.

The Archival Committee included Terry Marcum, Adi Kalika, Molly Berger, Shirley Levin, Snippy Kobey, Nancy Resnick and Debbye Zanerhaft.

Updated 11-21-2006

Back to Top


Back to Top

Contact GTR News