Cowboys Sharp, Hunter Are Performance Favorites

STILLWATER, Okla. – Oklahoma State running back Kendall Hunter and punter/kickoff specialist Quinn Sharp were listed among the 2010 preseason favorites for the College Football Performance Awards at their respective positions, it was announced today.

Sharp won the 2009 kickoff specialist performance award as a freshman after leading the nation in kickoffs that resulted in touchbacks with 35. According to the College Football Performance Awards criteria, Sharp’s kickoff performance is the second strongest since the kickoff was moved back to the 30 yard line. Sharp’s 50% touchback percentage in 2009 was roughly 41% higher than the national median.

He is also a strong candidate for the top punter honor after ranking fifth nationally in 2009 with a 45.1 yards per punt average. His average ranks third among punters returning in 2010.

Hunter was a first-team All-American in 2008 after leading the Big 12 and ranking seventh nationally with 119.6 rushing yards per game. He spent much of the 2009 season on the sidelines due to injury, but still enters the 2010 season averaging more than six yards per carry for his career.

No other school has received more Performance Award trophies than Oklahoma State the last two years. Perrish Cox (2008 kickoff returner), Dez Bryant (2008 wide receiver) and Sharp (2009 kickoff specialist) have all finished seasons with the strongest performances at their respective positions.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

2010 College Football Performance Awards Preseason Favorites (Kickoff Specialist)
Derek Dimke, Illinois
Aric Goodman, Colorado
Jacob Harfman,
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Kyle Hughes, New Mexico State
Ben Jaekle,
Adi Kunalic, Nebraska
Jeff Locke,
Craig McIntosh, Kentucky
John Potter, Western Michigan
Jake Rogers, Cincinnati
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State
Matt Szymanski,
Blair Walsh, Georgia
Nate Whitaker, Stanford

2010 College Football Performance Awards Preseason Favorites (Punter)
Bryan Anger, California
Peter Boehme, Southern Mississippi
Matt Bosher, Miami
Drew Butler, Georgia
Kyle Delahooke, Navy
Derek Epperson, Baylor
Reid Forrest, Washington State
Chas Henry, Florida
Rob Long, Syracuse
Austin McCoy, Wyoming
Sean Sellwood, Utah
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State
Tress Way, Oklahoma

2010 College Football Performance Awards Preseason Favorites (Running Back)
Baron Batch, Texas Tech
Allen Bradford,
Donald Buckram,
John Clay, Wisconsin
Jeff Demps, Florida
Noel Devine, West Virginia
Lance Dunbar, North Texas
Andre Ellington, Clemson
Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State
Mark Ingram, Alabama
Lamichael James, Oregon
Dion Lewis, Pittsburgh
Bernard Pierce, Temple
Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State
Chad Spann, Northern Illinois
Vai Taua, Nevada
Robert Turbin, Utah State
Harvey Unga,
Shane Vereen, California
Eddie Wide, Utah
Ryan Williams, Virginia Tech

Updated 05-12-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author