Cowboys Take Aim At Fifth In A Row

Oklahoma State’s men’s golf team will head north to Hutchinson, Kansas in search of its fifth consecutive conference title this week when it begins play at the Big 12 Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club. The top-ranked Cowboys will begin the 72-hole event at 8:50 a.m. () on Monday and will be grouped with Texas A&M and Texas. The tournament will consist of 36 holes on Monday followed by 18-hole days on Tuesday and Wednesday.

The Format
A total of 72 holes will be played over three days. Golfers will play 36 holes to start the event on Monday, followed by 18 on both Tuesday and Wednesday. Teams will tee off on the first and 10th tees at 8 a.m. and 8:50 a.m. on all three days. Groupings for the second round of the first day will remain the same, but will switch starting tees. The second round is scheduled to begin five and a half hours after the first round tee times. Second day groupings will be based on first day results and placed in a horseshoe arrangement.

Monday, April 25 (36 holes)
1st tee 10th tee
8:00 a.m. No. 10 Nebraska, No. 11 Kansas, No. 12 Kansas State 8:00 a.m. No. 4 Texas Tech, No. 5 Oklahoma, No. 6 Baylor
8:50 a.m. No. 7 Missouri, No. 8 Iowa State, No. 9 Colorado 8:50 a.m. No. 1 Oklahoma State, No. 2 Texas A&M, No. 3 Texas

At The Conference Championship
has won a league-best eight Big 12 titles since the formation of the conference in 1996. won the inaugural tournament in 1997 and repeated in 1998. The Pokes claimed titles in 2000 and 2005 before winning four-straight from 2007-2010. The Cowboys have also produced the event’s individual medalist on seven occasions with Leif Westerberg (1997), Charles Howell (2000), Anders Hultman (2002), Hunter Mahan (2003), Pablo Martin (2007), Rickie Fowler (2008) and Morgan Hoffmann (2009) all taking top honors. Overall, the Cowboys have won 53 league titles and have produced 45 individual champions.

Big 12 Rewind … 2010 Championship
Oklahoma State’s men’s golf team pulled away from the field with a 282 during the final round at the Big 12 Championship at Whispering Pines Golf Club to capture its fourth-straight league title. The crown was also ’s league-best eighth title since the formation of the Big 12 in 1996. The top-ranked Cowboys’ 6-under score, which was the round of the day by five shots at the par-72, 7,425-yard layout, gave them a 1,133 total. ’s 19-under score was 13 shots better than Texas A&M and was the third largest margin of victory in the history of the event. The Cowboys also set a new 72-hole scoring standard for the championship.

What 2 Watch 4
The Cowboys last captured five consecutive crowns when they won six-straight league titles from 1993- 1998 … has won 53 conference titles in its 64-year history, marking an astounding 83 percent of the time the Cowboys have emerged as the conference champion … has also produced the Big 12’s individual medalist three of the past four years … four of OSU’s five players in the lineup this week have combined to make seven starts at the Big 12 Championship … all seven of those starts resulted in top-10 finishes … during OSU’s current four-tournament winning streak at the Big 12 Championship, the Cowboys have won in dominating fashion, winning by an average of 13.5 shots … in 2007, won by seven shots, 2008 produced a 20-shot victory, 2009 a 14-stroke margin and 2010 a 13-shot cushion … the Cowboys have provided the event’s individual champion and/or runner up on 10 occasions … players have finished 1-2 in the event on three occasions with Cowboys holding the top two spots in 2000, 2007 and 2008.

Updated 04-25-2011

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News