Dr. Gerard Clancy is LWV Pathfinder Honoree

BLAZING TRAILS: Dr. Gerard Clancy, president of the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa, has been named the 2013 Pathfinder Honoree for the League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Tulsa. From left, back row, Pathfinder Committee Co-Chair Jenny Lizama, Paula Clancy, Dr. Gerard Clancy, League of Women Voters Education Fund Chair Kathryn Hinkle, League of Women Voters Board President Kathleen Kastelic and Administrative Director Emily Davis; front row: 2012 Pathfinder Honoree Nancy McDonald, and 2008 Pathfinder Honoree Patty Eaton.

GTR Newspapers photo

The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Tulsa announces that the 2013 Pathfinder Honoree is Dr. Gerard Clancy, president of the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa. The Pathfinder Award Gala will be held Tuesday, Oct. 29 at Gilcrease Museum. Dr. Clancy is being honored for his work to provide medical services to underserved communities in northeastern Oklahoma as well as for his contributions to Tulsa in general.

A kick-off event was held Aug. 29 in Tulsa at the home of an member. “We are proud to honor Dr. Clancy with this year’s Pathfinder Award,” says Kathleen Kastelic, president of the Tulsa League of Women Voters. “The important work that Dr. Clancy has done in creating the School of Community Medicine and expanding healthcare access in our community illustrates his strong commitment to affordable health care, which is an issue that the League has championed for many years.”

Pathfinder Award Gala sponsorships are available, ranging from $5,000 for two prime tables seating 16 to $250 for two dinner reservations. Individual tickets are $75. Sponsorships and reservations for the Pathfinder Award Gala can be made at lwvtulsa.org, or by calling 918-747-7933.

About the Pathfinder Award
Tulsa has been and continues to be fortunate to have a depth of women and men with courage and civic commitment who lend their skills and knowledge to blaze trails for the benefit of the wider community, the state and the nation. Their presence has enriched Tulsans by opening doors for the disenfranchised and furthering the mission and work of the League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Tulsa by informing, empowering and advocating a direction. They share common traits: civic pride, a giving spirit, the courage of their convictions, a sense of the future and the direction a path might take. They have been the pathfinders.

The award dinner is the League’s major annual fundraiser.

Past Pathfinder Award recipients are, 2004 – Nancy Feldman; 2005 – J.D. Metcalf; 2006 – Helen Arnold; 2007 – Robert J. LaFortune; 2008 – Penny Williams, Patty Eaton, Norma Eagleton; 2009 – Maxine Horner and Mable Rice; 2010 – Ken Greenwood; 2011 – Ruth K. Nelson; 2012 – Nancy McDonald.

The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Tulsa is a non-partisan political organization. Its mission is to encourage informed and active participation in government, to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and to influence public policy through education and advocacy. The League never supports or opposes the election of any candidate or political party, but the League does take positions on public policy matters.

For more information about the League, call 918-747-7933 or visit www.lwvtulsa.

Updated 10-01-2013

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author