Former TU Receiver Drew Pearson Goes into Texas Sports Hall of Fame on Monday

Waco, Texas –– Former University of Tulsa football player Drew Pearson will be inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame on Monday, February 7, 2011. The annual Texas Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet & Private Reception is presented by the Texas Farm Bureau Insurance Companies.

After his collegiate career at Tulsa, Pearson was a Dallas Cowboys receiver from 1973 to1983. As a professional, Pearson caught 489 passes for 7,822 yards and 48 touchdowns. He was selected to three Pro Bowls and made the All Pro team in 1974, 1976 & 1977.

Pearson played in three Super Bowls with Dallas, winning Super Bowl , and also caught a touchdown pass in Super Bowl X. He was a member of the NFL’s All Decade team for the 1970’s. Pearson caught the most famous pass in franchise history, a “Hail Mary” in the 1975 playoffs vs. Minnesota.

At Tulsa, Pearson caught 55 passes for 1,119 yards, six touchdowns and had a 20.3-yard average per catch in his career. As a senior, he led Tulsa with 33 receptions for 690 yards and three touchdowns. Pearson caught 22 passes for 429 yards and three touchdowns in his junior season. He began his college career as a quarterback and started four games as a sophomore before moving to receiver prior to the 1971 season.

Pearson was inducted into The University of Tulsa’s Athletic Hall of Fame in 1985.

Other inductees into this year’s Texas Sports Hall of Fame class include: football players Charley Johnson, John Randle and Emmitt Thomas; baseball players Jim Sundberg and Willie Wells; swimmer Laura Wilkinson, former University of Texas’ women’s athletic director Donna Lopiano and the Dallas Cowboys initial owner Clint Murchison.

Updated 02-05-2011

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author