Gundy A Finalist For Coach Of The Year

STILLWATER, Okla. – Oklahoma State head coach Mike Gundy has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2010 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, it was announced today.

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award recognizes coaches for their inspirational efforts both on and off the field that sets them apart from the rest. The honor celebrates coaches for their sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence and for giving back to their teams, schools and communities, on and off field.

“Coach Gundy is a great candidate for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award,” said Greg Gordon, Liberty Mutual senior vice president, Consumer Marketing. “The passionate Oklahoma State fans and alumni have suitably honored his coaching excellence, his dedication to student-athletes, and his commitment to community by casting votes and sharing anecdotes about his contributions, both on and off the field.”

An alumnus, Gundy continues to lead his alma mater to unprecedented success. In 2010, the Cowboys reached 10 wins for just the fourth time in school history and for the first time ever during the regular season. also earned a share of the Big 12 South title for the first time ever, and Gundy was named the league’s coach of the year.

Under Gundy’s leadership, the Cowboys had three players earn first-team All-America honors and four players claim the Big 12 Conference’s top individual awards. had the 2010 Biletnikoff Award and Groza Award winners in addition to nine All-Big 12 selections.

Joining Coach Gundy among the 10 finalists for the Football Bowl Subdivision are: Gene Chizik, Auburn; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Rich Ellerson, Army; Chip Kelly, Oregon; Doug Marrone, Syracuse; Tom O’Brien, North Carolina State; Nick Saban, Alabama; Mike Sherman, Texas A&M; Jim Tressel, Ohio State.

The finalists were determined as a result of online fan voting at and through an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame. Coach Gundy qualified for the model by finishing among the top 15 in fan votes in the division. The model considers, among other criteria: wins, team penalties, on-field sportsmanship, academic achievement by the student-athletes and civic and philanthropic endeavors.

Now through December 28 fans can visit to vote among the finalists. To ensure candidates are evaluated fairly and measured against the specific values of responsibility and integrity, selection committees of College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches – including Archie Manning, Lou Holtz, Vince Dooley, Ronnie Lott, Archie Griffin as well as additional historic football coaches and players – and the national college football media, such as famed sports analysts, Kirk Herbstreit, Stewart Mandel and Tim Brando, will also cast votes for the winners. Fan votes constitute 20 percent of a coach’s final score, with College Football Hall of Fame comprising 55 percent and media, 25 percent.

Liberty Mutual will announce the four winners, one from each division, January 10 in Scottsdale, Ariz., prior to the National Championship Game. If Coach Gundy wins, he will receive $50,000 to donate to the charities of his choice and a $20,000 grant to his school’s alumni association, providing further positive impact for Oklahoma State and the local community. Now in its fifth year, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award will surpass $1 million in support to dozens of national and local charities and college scholarship funds on behalf of its 2010 and past winners. Former Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year winners include: Gary Patterson, (2009); Nick Saban, Alabama (2008); Ron Zook, Illinois (2007); and Greg Schiano, Rutgers (2006).

Updated 12-13-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News