James Third in Heisman Trophy Voting

NEW YORK — The University of Oregon’s LaMichael James placed third in the 2010 Heisman Trophy voting, behind winner Cam Newton of Auburn and Stanford’s Andrew Luck during the annual Heisman ceremony in Manhattan.

“It’s an honor just to make it this far,” the sophomore running back said. “I’m proud to be able to represent my teammates and bring attention to the University of Oregon.”

James will have a chance to go against Newton one more time this season when No. 2 Oregon plays against the Heisman quarterback and his top-ranked Tigers on Jan. 10 in the BCS Championship Game in Glendale, Ariz.

Only one other UO player had ever been invited to New York as a finalist, when former quarterback Joey Harrington finished fourth in 2001. James’ third-place finish bettered Harrington’s as the best in school history.

LaMichael James talks to the media on Friday prior to Saturday’s Heisman Trophy ceremony.

“Of all the players who play college football, I’m in the top three,” James quipped. “I’m cool with that.”

James won the Doak Walker Award as the nation’s top running back earlier in the week and has been named to three All-America teams to date. A first-team All-Pac 10 performer on the field, he also garnered Pac-10 All-Academic honors this season.

Heading into the postseason, he leads the nation with 1,682 rushing yards, 21 rushing touchdowns and a scoring average of 12.0 points per game.

The Texarkana, Texas, product received 22 first-place, 313 second-place and 224 third-place votes for a total of 916 points. Newton had 2,283 points and Luck had 1,079. Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore was fourth with 635 points.

The last Oregon player in serious contention for the Heisman Trophy was former quarterback Dennis Dixon, who finished fifth in 2007 despite only playing in eight full games before a suffering a season-ending injury.

Updated 12-12-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News