Kansas’ Marcus Morris Named John R. Wooden Award 2010-11 Midseason Top 30 Candidate

ANGELES – Kansas junior Marcus Morris has been named a John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 30 candidate, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced Thursday.

Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the list is made up of 30 student-athletes who, based on their performances in November and December, are the early frontrunners for college basketball’s most prestigious honor.

Morris leads the Big 12 Conference in field goal percentage at 60.6 percent. The 6-9 Philadelphia forward is KU’s top scorer and ranks 10th in the league in scoring with 15.2 points per game. Named the Big 12 Player of the Week Nov. 29, Morris has scored double figures in all but two games this season and has led the third-ranked Jayhawks (14-0) in every statistic at least once this season.

Last season, Kansas’ Sherron Collins was a Wooden Award All-American and one of five finalists for the Wooden Award. In the Bill Self era, KU’s Wayne Simien was a Wooden Award All-American and finalist in 2005 and Brandon Rush was a Wooden Award All-American in 2007 and 2008. Former KU great and current assistant coach Danny Manning was the 1988 Wooden Award winner.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are eligible for this midseason list but did not appear on the preseason Top 50. All players nationally who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for the official voting ballot released in March. The National Ballot consists of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 . The Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round during the Tournament, making it unique among college postseason awards.

The 35th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the men’s and women’s Wooden Award winners, a special tribute to Coach Wooden and Wooden Award founder Duke Llewellyn, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will take place the weekend of April 8-10, 2011.

Updated 01-06-2011

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author