Karen Keith Named 2019 TCC Vision Honoree


The Tulsa Community College Foundation announces Karen Keith is the 2019 Vision in Education Leadership Award recipient. The award will be presented at the annual Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner on Sept. 19 at the Cox Business Center. A reception will begin at 6 p.m. with dinner and program to follow at 7 p.m.
John and Lesa Smaligo are serving as the 2019 Vision Honorary Co-Chairs. Roger Ramseyer is the 2019 Foundation Dinner Chair. This year’s Visionary sponsors are the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, Cox Communications, ONEOK and TTCU Federal Credit Union.
Keith is being honored because of her leadership in moving the greater Tulsa community forward and her commitment to improving the lives of Oklahomans. She shapes the conversation about where the region is headed by listening, educating, and building consensus. Elected in 2009, she has served three terms as a Tulsa County Commissioner. She has been a strong advocate for the new Family Justice Center and is credited for ushering this project through years of delays and setbacks. She is also a member of the Task Force on the Future of Higher Education, established by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, to examine ways to improve college degree completion and productivity across the state.
“Karen Keith loves this community and works passionately to build a better one for all citizens of Tulsa County,” said TCC President and CEO Leigh B. Goodson, Ph.D. “Whether it is leading the successful effort to fund and build a new juvenile justice center or inform the community about the aging levee system, she has demonstrated the highest levels of community leadership.”
She served as the 100th president and was on the board of the Rotary Club of Tulsa and is a Paul Harris Fellow. Keith and her husband, Tulsa attorney Patrick Malloy, several years ago took part in the International Rotary convention in Portugal.
Keith also serves on the Oklahoma Historical Society board of directors. She is a member of Leadership Oklahoma Class XX, the Oklahoma Academy, and the chamber of commerce organizations in Tulsa, Jenks, Sand Springs and Southwest Tulsa.
Keith grew up in Muskogee. She was active in 4-H and graduated from Muskogee High School in 1972. She put herself through college with scholarships and a variety of jobs. A 1976 graduate of Oklahoma State University, her degree is in Radio, TV-News and Public Affairs. Keith worked 26 years in broadcasting with 21 years at KJRH as an anchor, reporter, as well as executive producer and host of “Oklahoma Living.” She is proudest of her work on documentaries that took her to Vietnam, Israel, Germany, Russia and Mexico. 
In 2002, Keith became the Mayor’s Director of Community Relations and Vision implementation. Serving as part of the team focused on Vision 2025, she helped form the Vision 2025 Oversight Committee. She also worked on the Arena and Convention Center Design Committee and the Vision 2025 Downtown Housing Fund Committee.
Following her service at City Hall, Karen worked for the Tulsa Metro Chamber of Commerce as the Director of Partnership Development for the Tulsa Convention and Visitors Bureau.
The annual Vision Dinner continues to support students by providing funds for scholarships, leadership development and mentoring opportunities, technology and equipment necessary to prepare for today’s work force.
“Founded nearly 50 years ago, the TCC Foundation has a long tradition of providing financial resources to support the College’s mission. This year, we are finishing a remarkable journey as we complete the $20 million Clearing the Pathway: Campaign for Completion designed to help more students earn college degrees. Whether through the Vision Dinner or annual campaign, we are removing barriers to student success,” said Kari Shults, interim vice president of advancement and TCC Foundation president.
In addition to the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, Cox Communications, ONEOK and TTCU Federal Credit Union as Visionary sponsors, AAON, The Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation, ARVEST Foundation, ONE Gas, Price Family Properties, Robin Flint Ballenger, Ruth K. Nelson, and The Williams Companies, Inc. are Leadership sponsors.
Bank of Oklahoma, Hillcrest HealthCare System, Jim Norton Toyota and Jim Norton Chevrolet, OSU-Tulsa / OSU / OSU Foundation, The Oxley Foundation, and Tulsa World Media Group are Excellence sponsors. Achievement sponsors are Anchor Stone Co., JP Morgan Chase Bank, N.A., Shiela and Ted Haynes, Stinnett & Associates, and Tulsa Regional Chamber.
Dedication sponsors are Cancer Treatment Centers of America; Commerce Bank; The Bama Companies; Sharon King Davis; Dewberry; First Oklahoma Bank; Flintco LLC.; D. Forrest Cameron, Ph. D., GTR Media Group; Marge and John Gaberino; Leigh and Mark Goodson; K S Adams Foundation; Langdon Publishing; William Lobeck and The Hon. Kathy Taylor; Matrix Service Company; Stacey and Tom McKeon; Rick and Susan Neal; Mr. Larry C. & Dr. Eleanor C. Payne; Clifford Power; Regent Bank; Lesa and John Smaligo; Dean and Vesta VanTrease; and York Electronic Systems, Inc.
The 2019 TCC Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner committee members are Scott Asbjornson, Jeff Brooks, Kevin Gross, Jennifer Jezek, Jackie Price Johannsen and Sean Kouplen.
Past honorees include Alison Anthony, Keith Ballard, David Boren, Montie Box, Pete Churchwell, U.S. Representative Tom Cole, Bill Doenges, Leonard Eaton, Martin Fate, Ted Fisher, John Gaberino, Dr. Jim and Ann Halligan, Susan Harris, former Governor Brad Henry, Jake Henry Jr., Michael Johnson, George Kaiser, Ron King, Robert LaFortune, Nancy McDonald, David Page, Ron Peters, Lynn and Stacy Schusterman, Don Walker, and John-Kelly C. Warren.
For information regarding sponsorships and tickets to the 2019 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner, call 918-595-7836 or email visiondinner@tulsacc.edu.