KRMG Wins National Award

The Radio and Television News Directors Association has awarded its National Best Radio Newscast Award to Tulsa radio station KRMG (740AM). The award was presented October 16 in New York City during the RTNDA’s black-tie annual convention.
The RTNDA has offered its Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. “While KRMG has won numerous regional Murrow Awards in the past, this is our first national win” said long-time KRMG News Director John Durkee.

“The RTNDA has three categories. Networks and local markets ranked by size, one through 50 and local markets 51 plus. We won for markets 51 plus” said Durkee. “This is a huge honor for our staff. I’m very proud of them. This is Academy Awards for electronic journalism”

The newscast cited was a 6 a.m. broadcast from November 2005. The news anchors were Glenn Schroeder and Angela Rosecrans. The cast also featured live reports from KRMG’s Marshall Stewart and Debra Woodall, as well as contributions from the rest of the KRMG news staff.

RTNDA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries.

Updated 11-24-2006

Back to Top


Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author