NFL Alumni to honor Cowboys Running Back Felix Jones with Spirit Award

Dallas Cowboys running back and former Booker T. Washington star Felix Jones has been named the 2011 Alumni Spirit Award recipient. Jones edged out finalists from among all 32 teams for the award that is given annually to a current or former player who has demonstrated a commitment to youth and community service. Under a new format in 2011, the nomination and selection of Jones was made by a panel of former players.

The first round draft pick of the Cowboys in 2008, Jones is being honored for his development of youth mentoring programs including the “Felix Jones Sound Mind, Sound Body Football Camps” and “ACT & College Preparatory Program” in the Tulsa and Dallas areas. He is also being recognized for his involvement with the North Texas Super Bowl Host Committee’s “Hunger No More” project.

Jones will be presented the award during the 29th annual Alumni Player of the Year Awards Show held February 4 in Dallas. During the show, each winner will receive his award from a former player counterpart. Veteran commentator Gus Johnson will serve as Master of Ceremonies for this year’s event.

Online voting for the Alumni Player of the Year Awards is on-going and open to all former players at .NFLALUMNI.ORG.

Voting will close on January 24, 2011. Each retired player who votes will be entered into the 2010 Alumni Player of the Year Sweepstakes for a chance to win 4 tickets to the 29th Annual Alumni Player of the Year Awards Show.

Past Alumni Spirit Award Winners

2008 – Chris Draft 2007 – Warrick Dunn

2006 – Troy Aikman 2005 – Dan Marino

2004 – Drew Bledsoe 2003 – Steve Young

2002 – Boomer Esiason 2001 – Deacon Jones

2000 – Mel Blount 1999 – Nick Buoniconti

1998 – Jim Kelly 1997 – Dan Marino

1996 – Anthony Munoz

Updated 01-13-2011

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News