OK2Grow Honors Emerging Manufacturing Leaders at Dream It Do It Kick-Off Breakfast

OK2GROW LEADERSHIP AND KEYNOTE SPEAKER: From left, Cheryl Hill, Speaker Dana Weber, Sheila Shook, Lynda Wingo, Vikki Dearing and Stephanie Cameron.

Courtesy photo

The annual Dream It Do It Oklahoma kick-off breakfast honored the state’s Emerging Manufacturing Leaders. This year 36 honorees from 26 companies from the Tulsa region were recognized. Educators, manufacturers, workforce partners and students attended the breakfast, which was held to create new interest in innovative and rewarding manufacturing. The event was held at the Tulsa Tech – Lemley Memorial Campus.

Dream It Do It Oklahoma is one of the three divisions of OK2Grow, which has a mission to facilitate the development of Oklahoma’s future workforce by creating awareness of careers and promoting pathways that build confidence and excitement for workplace success. In addition to Dream It Do It, the other two divisions are known as Career Pathway and Scholarship.

OK2Grow is focused on youth entrepreneurship, career awareness and supporting education pathways available to students in the community. The organization was founded by three local business leaders, Lynda Wingo, Jerry Holder and the late Larry Mocha in 2012. Each division of OK2Grow helps provide resources for educators as well as gives students a path and vision for success, whether it’s higher education, technical education or entering the workforce. 

This year, area manufacturing employers were invited to nominate “Emerging Manufacturing Leaders” within their company, who are under 40 years of age and show great potential in their manufacturing career. State Director of Dream It Do It Oklahoma Stephanie Cameron said, “Dream It Do It helps develop the workforce pipeline by creating understanding of manufacturing careers to increase economic wealth and quality of life for Oklahomans. We want to celebrate success in manufacturing and help more individuals connect with career paths in the industry.”

Dream It Do It Oklahoma facilitates classroom visits, tours and other activities, as well as internship opportunities for students. Dream It Do It Oklahoma will host activities throughout Manufacturing Month in October.

Dream It Do It Oklahoma Kick-Off Breakfast Keynote Speaker:
Dana Weber was the Dream It Do It Oklahoma Kick-Off Breakfast keynote speaker. President and of Webco Industries, Inc. as the keynote speaker,  Weber began her full-time career at Webco Industries in 1977 and has held various positions in accounting, finance, production planning and systems design and implementation.  Weber graduated from the University of Tulsa with a B.S. in Accounting and a Juris Doctorate.  She is also a graduate of Harvard Business School Program for Management Development and subsequently studied industrial engineering at Oklahoma State University. Weber is currently Chairman of the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority Board and serves on several boards:  Oklahoma City Branch of the Kansas City Federal Reserve; Tulsa Regional Chamber; Oklahoma State Chamber Board; University of Tulsa.  Weber also currently serves on the Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women. 

The 2018 Emerging Manufacturing Award Recipients (Tulsa Area): Justin Green – OSECO, Nick Kocsis – , Patricia Yannes – Muncie Power Products, Sarah & Andy Fiegener – Rye Design, Gabe Hayes – Wood Systems, William Whitfield – Meridian Brick, Derrick Davis – Baker Hughes, Alvaro Marrufo – EBSCO Spring, Brent Johnson – TD Williamson, Ashley Cobb – The Bama Companies, Dan Fout – The Pump and Motor Works Inc., Drew Corbell – TD Williamson, Zac Harris – D&L Oil Tools, Jay Katon – Air Coolers, Matthew Williams – Advantage Controls, Joe Neel – Muncie Power Products, Melissa Rucker – Muncie Power Products, Brian O’Dell – Blue Arc Metal, Colby Pierce – Specific Systems, Christian Conner – North America, Johnny Beaty – North America, Luke Kindle – , Katie Morris – Baker Hughes, Emily Glavan – Baker Hughes, Brandon Jones – Baker Hughes, Cameron Walker – NORDAM, Garrett Claxton – Big Elk Energy, Evan Jacobs- , Bradley Jones – Spirit Aerosystems, Jeremiah Ward – Webco, Daniel Evans – Webco, Josh Baker – Webco, Matt Bredensteiner – Webco, Sarah Edwards – Georgia Pacific, Josh Amato -Fiber Pad, and Derek Vanberschot – American Airlines.

For more information, see www.ok2grow.org.

Updated 09-12-2018

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author