Oklahoma Authors Hosted at Harweldon

(top)EVENT CHAIRS: Co-Chairs Heather Ann Hope, center, and Arlene Johnson performed excellent service in assembling impressive authors at the annual Tulsa Press Club Oklahoma, Ink. Book Fair. The authors in the photo are, from left, Robert Conley, Andrew Burstein and William Bernhardt.(bottom)ROUTE 66ERS: Legendary authors Michael Wallis and Suzanne Fitzgerald Wallis (seated) of Route 66 fame are holding copies of their well-known books, including “The Art of Cars.??? Enjoying the company of the authors are, from left, Val Fimbres and her husband David, a friend of the arts and Kelly Thayer.

GTR Newspapers photos

The Tulsa Press Club hosted the second annual Oklahoma, Ink Book Fair Nov. 30 at Harwelden, 2210 S. Main St. in Tulsa. The free event was open to the public.

Twenty distinguished writers and illustrators from the Sooner state gathered for a casual evening of literati and food, allowing an opportunity to mingle with local authors while sampling appetizers and desserts from some of Tulsa’s finest restaurants. The authors were on hand to greet fans and autograph books. Books were available for purchase, courtesy of Barnes & Noble.

The annual book fair is the perfect opportunity for area residents to meet some of their favorite Oklahoma authors and purchase gifts for the upcoming holidays. A generous portion of the book sales from the evening benefits the Tulsa Press Club Scholarship Fund.

The Oklahoma, Ink Book Fair is sponsored by the Tulsa Press Club, the Arts & Humanities Council of Tulsa and Barnes & Noble. Co-sponsors are Public Service Company of Oklahoma (PSO), Krumme Oil Co., Tulsa Technology Center, Lobeck-Taylor Foundation, Cherokee Enterprises, The Journal Record and HKH Advertising.

Participating authors were William Bernhardt, Andrew Burstein, Ally Carter, Robert J. Conley, Connie Cronley, David Dary, Kim Doner, Jami Fullerton, James Patrick Hunt, Wilma Mankiller, Hannibal Johnson, Billie Letts, Malena Lott, Kandy Radzinski, Tim Tharp, Will Thomas, M.J. Vandeventer and Nancy Ingram, Michael Wallis and Suzanne Fitzgerald Wallis, William Winchester, and John Wooley.

Food was donated by TeKei’s, Sand Springs Station, AFAB Catering, Mimi’s, Panera Bread and the Downtown DoubleTree.
Oklahoma, Ink co-chairs are Heather Ann Hope and Arlene Johnson. Committee members are Maridel Allinder, Betty Casey, Andrea Chancellor, Melani Hamilton, Chris Hernandez, Margaret Hope, Jeff Martin and Mike Miller.

For more information about the Oklahoma, Ink Book Fair, contact Heather Ann Hope at 607-2923 or Arlene Johnson at 493-1994.

Updated 01-08-2007

Back to Top


Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author