Seventeen Jayhawks Recognized On Academic All-Big 12 Teams

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Jacob Branstetter, Drew Dudley and Justin Springer earned Academic All-Big 12 honors for the third time in their careers in leading a total of 17 Kansas football players named to the league’s academic teams Thursday.

KU’s 14 first-team honorees tied Texas for the most in the league this season.  They were also the most in school history surpassing the 11 recognized in 2007.  KU had three second-team honorees this year as well.

Branstetter, Dudley and Springer give KU 12 three-time first-team selections all-time.  Only four Jayhawks ever earned the honor four times.

Branstetter, a placekicker from Lawton, Okla., is majoring in management and leadership, while Dudley is a civil engineering major from College Station, Texas and Springer is a sport management major from Los Fresnos, Texas.

Earlier this fall, Dudley and senior Brad Thorson were both named academic all-district.  Dudley earned that honor for the second consecutive season.

Jayhawks who earned first-team recognition from the league for the second time include tight end Tim Biere, offensive lineman Trevor Marrongelli, safety Olaitan Oguntodu, and Thorson. 

First-time honorees include safety Brian Blackwell, fullback/defensive end Steven Foster, nickel back Tyler Patmon, wide receiver Reece Petty, fullback Justin Puthoff, offensive lineman Alex Smith and offensive lineman Riley Spencer.

Second-team honorees include defensive end Jake Laptad, defensive end Toben Opurum and wide receiver Daymond Patterson.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services, the football academic all-league squad consisted of 100 first team members combined with 70 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Academic All-Big 12 Football Teams

(Kansas selections)

First Team (3.20-plus)

Name                         Yr.       Major                                      Hometown

Tim Biere                Jr.      Marketing                         Omaha, Neb,
Brian Blackwell         Jr.      Mechanical Engineering        Herrington, Kan.
Jacob Branstetter     Sr.      Management & Leadership   Lawton, Okla.
Drew Dudley            Sr.      Civil Engineering                 College Station, Texas
Steven Foster          Jr.      Communication Studies        Sedgwick, Kan.
Trevor Marrongelli     So.     Finance                            Austin, Texas
Olaitin Oguntodu       Sr.      Masters in Business Admin.  Mesquite, Texas
Tyler Patmon           Fr.      Sport Management             Cedar Park, Texas
Reece Petty             Sr.      History Education                Liberal, Kan.
Justin Puthoff           Fr.      Biochemistry                     Goddard, Kan.
Alex Smith               Sr.      Communication Studies        Basehor, Kan.
Riley Spencer           Fr.      Exercise Science                Hesston, Kan.
Justin Springer         Sr.      Sport Management             Los Fresnos, Texas
Brad Thorson           Sr.      Economics – Graduate         Mequon, Wis.

Second Team (3.00-3.19)

Name                         Yr.       Major                                      Hometown

Jake Laptad             Sr.      Accounting                        Tulsa, Okla.

Toben Opurum         So.     Pre-Business                     Plano, Texas

Daymond Patterson   Jr.      Sport Management             Mesquite, Texas

Updated 11-18-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author