Sixteen Sooners Earn Big 12 Academic Honors

Gabe Ikard

NORMAN, Okla. – Sixteen Oklahoma Sooners, paced by offensive lineman Gabe Ikard, were named to the 2010 Academic All-Big 12 team that was announced Thursday.

Ikard, a redshirt freshman from Oklahoma City, carries a 4.0 grade point average in zoology. He was one of four 4.0 students named to the team.

Other first teamers from OU included Jaydan Bird (sophomore, sociology/criminology), Brandon Crow (senior, social studies education), Daniel Franklin (sophomore, health and exercise science), Demontre Hurst (sophomore, undeclared), Brian Lepak (senior, finance), Jamarkus McFarland (sophomore, health and exercise science) and John Nimmo (senior, management).

Another eight Sooners were named to the second team. They were Tyler Evans (sophomore, sociology), Travis Lewis (junior, sociology), Eric Mensik (senior, multidisciplinary studies), DeMarco Murray (senior, communication), Patrick O’Hara (sophomore, sociology), Jimmy Stevens (junior, energy management), Adrian Taylor (senior, sociology) and Marcus Trice, (sophomore, undeclared).

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Updated 11-20-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author