Sooners Honored at Banquet

NORMAN, Okla. – Oklahoma’s football team celebrated the 2010 season and its seventh Big 12 Championship during a banquet Friday night in Norman. The event was held at the Conference Center and Hotel.

The event celebrated the record-setting accomplishments of the team and its all-conference and All-America players, but also included several awards that had not been previously announced.

The Derrick Shepard Most Inspirational Walk-On Player was shared by three players, Trent Ratterree, Brian Lepak and James Winchester.

The Bob Kalsu Award for courageous effort went to Adrian Taylor.

The Special Teams Players of the Year were announced as Winchester, Ronnell Lewis and Jimmy Stevens.

Scout Team Player of the Year Awards were presented on both offense and defense. On offense, the honor went to Julian Winters and Adam Shead. On defense, Caleb Gastelum, Kale Sawatsky and David Driskill were cited.

All of the team members received their Big 12 Championship Watches at the event.

The banquet was pushed to an 8 p.m., starting time to accommodate seven players who graduated Friday evening.

The Sooners completed final exams on Friday and will resume practice before being dismissed just before Christmas. The team will reconvene on Dec. 26 in Phoenix, Ariz., to being preparations for the 2011 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, which will be played Jan. 1., in Glendale, Ariz., against Big East Champion, Connecticut.

Updated 12-18-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author