TCC Foundation Honors Schusterman Family

HONORING DONORS: At the TCC Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner are, in back from left, Bill Lobeck, honorary chair; Tom McKeon, TCC president; Pierce Norton, dinner chair; and John Bowen, honorary table host. In front from left are Kathy Taylor, honorary chair; Stacy Schusterman and Lynn Schusterman.

A job well done was the sentiment throughout the 2011 Tulsa Community College Foundation Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner honoring Lynn and Stacy Schusterman Sept. 22. Nearly 400 family, friends and community members gathered to thank the Schustemans for their generous support of education. The Foundation celebrated the most successful event in its 12-year history raising a record breaking $295,000, which will provide scholarship and academic programs for students at .

From early childhood programs to college graduation opportunities, the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation impacts Tulsa area students all along their educational journeys. The Foundation’s Founder and Chair Lynn Schusterman and her daughter Stacy Schusterman, who serves as vice president, have worked to strengthen and enrich the global Jewish community, as well as enhance the quality of life in their hometown of Tulsa for more than 25 years. Their work in Tulsa has especially impacted the areas of education, child advocacy and youth development.

Samson was the lead sponsor of the evening. Bill Lobeck and former Mayor Kathy Taylor served as honorary chairs. Pierce H. Norton II, a Foundation trustee, was event chair. John Bowen was honorary table host chair. The Vision Dinner committee included James J. Bender, Konnie Boulter, D. Alex Bowles, Tiffani J. Bruton, Teresa Meinders Burkett, Jackie Kouri, Stephen L. Mackin, Randy Macon, Larry Mocha, Joan P. Parkhurst and David Stewart.

Guests were welcomed in the lobby of the Tulsa Convention Center by more than 100 Tulsa Achieves students who served as greeters giving applause and smiles of thanks as guests entered. Many of the students were beneficiaries of the Schustermans’ generous donations to the Tulsa Achieves Textbook Trust to support students who need financial assistance while purchasing college textbooks.
TCC’s Student Jazz Ensemble kept toes tapping while guests enjoyed a wine reception prior to the event. The dinner tables were elegantly dressed with centerpieces of orchids and hydrangeas by Toni’s Flowers.

Taylor served as Master of Ceremonies. A special invocation was given by Rabbi Marc Fitzerman. Speakers included Jim Cameron, Foundation chair, Pierce H. Norton, II, Vision Dinner committee chair and President Tom McKeon. Each praised the Schustermans for their generosity, service and improvements to the quality of life in Tulsa.

Among their numerous gifts, the Schustermans enhanced Tulsa Public Schools through its support of the Teach for America program. They impact post-secondary education and workforce training in Tulsa through partnerships with and Tulsa Technology Center. They were also the primary contributors to the purchase of University of Oklahoma’s Tulsa campus and recently were the primary donors to the addition of a 22,000-square-foot, two-story library at the OU-Tulsa campus.

The Vision Award is presented annually to an individual dedicated to education excellence and community leadership. Past honorees include Gov. Brad Henry, Montie Box, David Boren, John-Kelly Warren, Michael Johnson, George Kaiser, John Gaberino, Ken Lackey and Dr. Paula Marshall.

Members of the Board of Regents in attendance included Chairman Martin Garber and his wife Karen; Regent and Chair Ron Looney and his wife Sue.

Guests from area colleges and universities included Superintendant of Tulsa Public Schools Keith Ballard; President of -Tulsa Howard and wife Billie Barnett, past chair and current member of the Foundation; President of OU-Tulsa Gerry Clancy; President of Foundation for Tulsa Public Schools Lucky Lamons; Dean of University of Tulsa Law School, Janet Levit; University of Tulsa Vice President of Government and Community Relations Susan Neal; University of Phoenix Vice President for Oklahoma Lori Santiago; Faculty Association President Greg Stone; President Emeritus Dr. Dean VanTrease.

Visionary level sponsor was Samson. Leadership sponsors were Bank of Oklahoma and the George Kaiser Family Foundation; Nadel and Gussman Energy, ; ONEOK; The Oxley Foundation; Williams; and Anne & Henry Zarrow Foundation. Excellence level sponsors were Senator Tom Adelson; American Airlines; Bank of America; Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma; Cancer Treatment Centers of America; Cherokee; Nation Businesses; Bryan Close; Cox Business; Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group; Halliburton; Helmerich & Payne; Jackie Kouri & Gary Paxton; Lobeck Taylor Family Foundation ; McDonald, McCann & Metcalf, ; Evelyn Nienhuis; Omni Air International; -Tulsa/Barnett Family Foundation; Scandrill; Dr. B. Frank & Mary Shaw; Unit Corporation; University of Tulsa; Tulsa Shock/American Fidelity and John Steele Zink Foundation.

Updated 10-22-2011

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author