Thoreau Demonstration Academy Receives Supreme Court Award

TOP NOTCH: Thoreau Demonstration Academy was awarded the School of the Year by the Oklahoma Bar Association recently. Pictured from left to right are: Chief Justice James E. Edmondson, Thoreau teacher Sandy Warren, Padalino and Justice Joseph M. Watt.

Thoreau Demonstration Academy is the Oklahoma Supreme Court’s School of the Year. The award was given Thursday, Feb. 25, 2010 at the Oklahoma Supreme Court building in Oklahoma City.

Thoreau received the honor for its Microsociety program, which provides students with a comprehensive look at the vagaries of the judicial system. Microsociety has its own constitution, courts, elected officials and economy.

“We are very pleased to receive this recognition from the Oklahoma Supreme Court,” said Tom Padalino, the principal of Thoreau. “Our MicroSociety law strand has earned this distinction and appreciates the opportunity to represent the [Law-related Education Committee].

The awards have been bestowed annually since 1991, with the winning school receiving $1,000.

Thoreau is no stranger to awards. Last fall two Thoreau students placed second and third in a sustainable energy essay contest sponsored by the city of Tulsa; Joey Newsom, a Thoreau math and science instructor, was Teacher of the Year in 2008 and Thoreau was named an Oklahoma Best Practice model school in 2006.

Updated 03-02-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News