Thran Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

EUGENE, Ore. – Senior tackle/guard Bo Thran has been named as one of 63 players on the watch list for the Outland Trophy, an award presented annually to college football’s top interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

Oregon’s second-most experienced lineman in terms of starting assignments, Thran has strung together 17 consecutive starts – 12 at left tackle and five at left guard – helping pave the way for the most prolific rushing offense in the Pac-10. The Gresham, Ore. native is also on the watch list for the Lombardi Award as college football’s outstanding lineman or linebacker.

A recent graduate, Thran was named to the All-Pac-10 first team by Phil Steele Publications and was an honorable mention all-conference choice according to the Pac-10 coaches last season. He was also honored as the team’s outstanding O-lineman (Moshofsky Award) and won the Officer Award, the team physical adversity honor. 
Three finalists will be selected in late November with the 
2010 winner announced at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.

Lombardi Award Watch List (outstanding lineman or linebacker)
Casey Matthews
Kenny Rowe
Bo Thran

Lott Trophy Watch List (defensive IMPACT player)
Casey Matthews
Kenny Rowe

Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List (nation’s top defensive player)
Kenny Rowe 2010 Preseason All-Americans
LaMichael James, Second Team
Casey Matthews, Honorable Mention

Outland Trophy Watch List (outstanding interior offensive lineman)
Bo Thran

Rimington Trophy Watch List (Nation’s top center)
Jordan Holmes

Preseason All-Pac-10
First Team
John Boyett (Phil Steele Publications)
LaMichael James (Phil Steele Publications)
Bo Thran (Phil Steele Publications)

Second Team
Brandon Bair (Phil Steele Publications)
Kenjon Barner, KR (Phil Steele Publications)
Jeff Maehl (Phil Steele Publications)
Casey Matthews (Phil Steele Publications)
Spencer Paysinger (Phil Steele Publications)
Kenny Rowe (Phil Steele Publications)
Carson York (Phil Steele Publications)

Third Team
Mark Asper (Phil Steele Publications)
Talmadge Jackson III (Phil Steele Publications)

Fourth Team
Cliff Harris (Phil Steele Publications)

Updated 06-22-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author