Top Communicators Honored


Tulsa’s top communications professionals were honored by their peers at the Bronze Quill annual Awards party in October, sponsored by the Tulsa chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators.

Ann N. Smith, executive director of Neighbor for Neighbor, was named Communicator of the Year for her commitment to communicating the plight of disadvantaged Tulsans. The non-profit organization fulfills the basic needs of thousands of disadvantaged people. It has seen dramatic growth due to Smith’s advocacy for collaborative communication to all audiences and stakeholders.

The John Hartman Award for the top communications professional of the year went to Susie Wellendorf, director of corporate communication at Hilti, Inc. She was honored for her outstanding contributions to her company, the communication profession and the community.

Dena Turner, communications manager at Hilti, Inc. received the IABC President’s Award for her support of IABC’s organizational goals.

In addition, 25 Bronze Quill awards were given in 17 categories for exceptional work completed during 2007 and 2008.

Marnie Ducato of Rex Public Relations won Best of Show with her “Rock the River” entry in the special communications event category.

Awards of Excellence were presented to Nicole Morgan and Marnie Ducato for Rex Public Relations’ “Oklahoma Drug Card” media relations; Henry Nguyen for ONEOK, Inc. and ONEOK Partners’ “Investor Relations Monthly” internal newsletter; Jarrod Kopp and Ramon Cardiel for FW Murphy’s “This Changes Everything” promotional advertising/marketing; Jarrod Kopp and Jinger McPeak for FW Murphy’s “Mix it. Merge It. Make it your own.” promotional advertising/marketing writing; Marnie Ducato for Rex Public Relations’ “Rock the River” special communications event; Shelley Bowersock for Crafton Tull Sparks’ “Education Composition Books” direct mail; Henry Nguyen for ONEOK Partners’ “MLP Conference” investor relations; Ryan Rex for Rex Public Relations’ “TU Homecoming” four-color quarterly magazine.

The annual awards party, themed “Elect the Best,” was held at VFW Post 577 in Tulsa. Sponsors of the event were BolenInk, ConocoPhillips, More Branding, ONEOK and Crafton Tull Sparks and Schnake Turnbo Frank PR.

Updated 12-31-2008

Back to Top


Back to Top

Contact GTR News