Tulane Will Represent C-USA in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship

Tulane – 2010 C-USA regular season & tournament champion

IRVING, Texas – Conference USA tournament and regular-season champion Tulane earned a berth to the 2010 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship Monday night. The Green Wave earned the league’s automatic bid and will be the No. 12 seed in the Sacramento Region. 

2010 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship Bracket <http://conferenceusa.cstv.com/photos/schools/c-usa/sports/w-baskbl/auto_pdf/10NCAAWBKBRACKET.pdf>  

Tulane (26-6) will face No. 5 seed Georgia (23-8) in the first round on Saturday. First- and second-round games are scheduled to be played at Wells Fargo Arena in Tempe, Ariz. The game will be televised nationally on ESPN2 and broadcast live on ESPN360. Tipoff is scheduled for approximately 9:30 p.m. (CDT). 

The Lady Bulldogs earned an at-large berth after going 23-8 overall and 9-7 in the Southeastern Conference. Georgia will be making its 27th NCAA appearances – the second highest total among all NCAA teams since the tourney’s inception in 1982 – and extended its string of consecutive trips to 16 dating back to the 1994-95 season. 

If the Green Wave beat the Bulldogs, they would play a second-round game on March 22 against the winner of No. 4 seed Oklahoma State (23-10) vs. No. 13-seed Tennessee-Chattanooga (24-8). 

Saturday will mark Tulane’s 10th trip to the NCAA Championship and first since 2003. Tulane won the C-USA regular-season championship with a 12-4 league record and became just the fourth team in conference history to earn the tournament’s No. 1 seed and win the tourney title. The title gives Tulane its fifth C-USA Tournament Championship – the most in league history. The Green Wave are the first team to win the regular-season and tournament titles in the same year since the 2005-06 season when Tulsa accomplished the feat. 

The victory was the Green Wave’s 10th in their last 11 games as Tulane enters the NCAA postseason 26-6 on the year. The 26 wins ranks tied for third most in school history in single-season victories. The record of 27 is shared by the 1996-97 and 1999-2000 teams. The 2006-07 squad, which won the C-USA regular-season crown and advanced to the second round of the WNIT, also won 26 games. 

Updated 03-17-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News