Tulsa Press Club Hosts Great Plains Awards

JOURNALISTIC SMILES: Enjoying Tulsa and the Mayo Hotel during the 2018 Great Plains Journalism Awards are, from left, Event Chair Anne Brockman of TulsaPeople Magazine, Omar Villafranca of CBS News and Andrea Leitch of National Geographic.

GTR Newspapers photo

The Tulsa Press Club hosted its annual Great Plains Journalism Awards May 4 at Tulsa’s Mayo Hotel.

The Great Plains Journalism Awards is a regional contest honoring print, web, TV and magazine journalists for outstanding stories, photography and design. The eight-state competition includes Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota and South Dakota.

The event welcomed News correspondent Omar Villafranca as its distinguished lecturer.  Joining Villafranca as featured speakers were ProPublica Illinois Editor-in-Chief Louise Kiernan, Tulsa attorney S. Douglas “Doug” Dodd and National Geographic’s Senior Director of Travel and Adventure Andrea Leitch. All four speakers presented workshops to conference attendees.

Both Villafranca and Leitch have Tulsa ties, as Villafranca was a Channel 6 correspondent from 2004-2008 and Leitch, who graduated from Booker T. Washington High School in 2003, served as online editor at Tulsa People Magazine until 2010.
The top nine overall winners are: 

• Great Plains Newspaper of the Year: Tulsa World
• Great Plains Magazine of the Year: Omaha Magazine
• Great Plains Website of the Year: Omaha World-Herald
• Great Plains Designer of the Year: Tim Parks, Omaha World-Herald
• Great Plains Newspaper Writer of the Year: Josh Dulaney, The Oklahoman
• Great Plains Newspaper Photographer/Portfolio of the Year: Sarah Hoffman, Omaha World-Herald
• Great Plains Magazine Photographer/Portfolio of the Year: Liz Painter, 605 Magazine
• Great Plains Magazine Writer of the Year: Wyndham Wyeth, Arkansas Life
• Great Plains Student Newspaper of the Year: The University Daily Kansan
More than 600 entries were received this year, with winners and finalists named in 72 professional and student categories. Four student journalists were awarded $1,500 scholarships named after former Tulsa Press Club president and ONEOK executive Dan Harrison.

Meagan Farley of Tulsa’s News On 6 was the emcee for the awards luncheon, which included presentation of the Dan Harrison Memorial Scholarships. The keynote speech was from Villafranca.

Updated 05-22-2018

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author