Tulsa Press Club Hosts Local Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame Members at a Recent Reception

GTR Media group photo
AMONG THE BEST IN JOURNALISM: Members of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame who attended the reception hosted by the Tulsa Press Club in the Atlas Life Building in downtown Tulsa in July are, standing from left, Ralph Schaefer, Wayne Greene, John Durkee, Randy Krehbiel and Joe Hight. Sitting are, from left, Neal Kennedy and Jim Langdon.

Members of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame met for a special reception in July at the Tulsa Press Club. Those who couldn’t attend the 50th anniversary gala in May at the Oklahoma History Center also received their commemorative membership medals at the reception.

The following profiles the Hall of Fame journalists who attended the Tulsa Press Club reception by their year of induction.

JIM LANGDON, 2006: Career started at The Tonkawa News, managed the Oklahoma Press Association’s Oklahoma Newspapers Advertising Bureau, president of the American Newspaper Representatives, founder of Langdon Publishing Company, established Tulsa People Magazine, recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Oklahoma School of Journalism.

Worked with KCSC-FM, WKY, KVOO, KRMG News and the Oklahoma Journal, recipient of the Edward R. Murrow Award, president of the Associated Press and United Press International broadcasting associations, president of Oklahoma Sigma Delta Chi, broadcasting professor, announcer at the Hallett Motor Racing Circuit.

JOE HIGHT, 2013: Former managing editor/director of the Oklahoman, co-founder of the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma, chairman of the Mid-America Press Institute, board member of the Associated Press Media Editors, “Oklahoma Joe” columnist for The Journal Record, University of Central Oklahoma endowed journalism ethics chair, director of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame, Oklahoma Watch board chairman, Freedom of Information Oklahoma president, recipient of at least 20 national awards, including being editor of The Gazette in Colorado Springs when it won the Pulitzer Prize in 2014, author and bookstore owner.

JOHN DURKEE, 2016: News Director for KRMG, communications director for the City of Tulsa, news director for the University of Tulsa’s KWGS radio station, regular guest on RSU-TV public affairs programs, named 2016 media icon by the Tulsa Press Club, worked with KTOK, KAKC and KFSB, two-time winner Radio television Digital News Association’s Edward R. Murrow Award.

RANDY KREHBIEL, 2017: Worked with the Oklahoma City Times and the Marion Chronicle-Tribune, sports and news writer for the Tulsa World, covering everything from college football and boxing to higher education and politics; covered the Tulsa Race Riot Commission and the John Hope Franklin Commission, author.

RALPH SCHAEFER, 2017: Associate editor for Southeast News, Tulsa County News, and the Owasso Reporter, worked on all papers in the Retherford Publications group, senior editor for the combined Tulsa Daily Business Journal and the Tulsa Daily Commerce and Legal News, recipient of the Liberty Bell Award, Executive Committee member for Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame.

WAYNE GREENE, 2019: City editor, then editorial pages editor at the Tulsa World, worked with the Enid Morning News and Enid News Eagle, recipient of the University of Oklahoma Distinguished Alumni Award (2017), named “The Conscience of the Community” by the Tulsa Regional Chamber of commerce (2016).