Tulsa’s G.J. Kinne, Damaris Johnson Earn Conference USA Player of the Year Honors

The University of Tulsa took two of the six major player of the year honors in Conference as voted on by the league’s coaches, it was announced today.

Junior quarterback G.J. Kinne (Gilmer, Texas) was selected as the C- Offensive Player of the Year, while fellow junior Damaris Johnson (Norco, La.) was named the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Kinne’s honor marks the 11th time in the last 13 years that a quarterback has won the Offensive Player of the Year award. He ranks first in C- for total offense (322 ypg) and second for pass efficiency (141.8) and passing yards per game (275.6 ypg). Kinne has led Tulsa to the No. 1 ranking in C- in rushing offense, scoring offense and total offense.

The 6’2” Kinne has completed 60 percent of his passes for 3,307 yards and 28 TDs, and has rushed for 557 yards and 7 TDs. He has produced five 300+ yard passing games and one 400+ yard game this year.

A kick returner/punt returner Johnson leads the nation for the second straight year in all-purpose yards with a 191.8-yard per game average. Johnson has five 200+ all-purpose yard games and has 39 plays for over 20+ yards this year.

He became the and C- record-holder for career kickoff return yards in only his junior year and he currently has 3,308 career yards. In 2010, many opponents have kicked away from Johnson, as he returned only 29 kicks on 67 kickoffs. He has produced 795 yards, one TD and a 27.4-yard average on those 29 returns. Johnson currently ranks 24th in the for kickoff return yards and 19th for punt returns this season.

He also has a team-leading 771 receiving yards and three TDs, while rushing for 462 yards, a 9.2 average and 6 TDs. Johnson earned first team all-Conference honors as a punt returner and second team recognition as a wide receiver and a kick returner this year.

The other Conference awards went to Dwayne Harris of East Carolina, Defensive Player of the Year Bruce Miller of , East Carolina quarterback Dominique Davis as Newcomer of the Year and quarterback Jeff Godfrey as Freshman of the Year.

Updated 12-09-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author