Tulsa Businesses Honored

Five winners of the 2007 Tulsa Metro Chamber Small Business Awards competition have been named winners of the Oklahoma Small Business Awards Competition. They will be recognized at the State’s annual awards luncheon on March 27 at Rose State College. They will also go on to national competition.

The competition is a program of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

The winners are:
2008 Small Business Person of the Year: Marilyn Ihloff, owner Ihloff Salon and Day Spa.

2008 Oklahoma Women in Business Champion of the Year: Carolyn Marie Marshall, owner of L&M Office Furniture, Tulsa.
2008 Oklahoma Financial Services Champion of the Year: Ted A. Cundiff, Spirit Bank Business Resource Center, Tulsa.
2008 Oklahoma Home-Based Small Business of the Year: Randy Clay, owner of Randy Clay Companies, Tulsa.

2008 Oklahoma Small Business Journalist of the Year: Ray Tuttle, Tulsa Business Journal, Tulsa.

Ihloff was named top small business person in the state based on her companies’ staying power, growth in number of employees, increase in sales, innovativeness of product and contributions to community-oriented projects. She was nominated by Lynda Wingo, executive director of Miss Helen’s Private School, Tulsa.

Special remarks at the luncheon will be made by Lt. Gov. Jari Askins followed by keynote speaker Dr. Vince Orza, Dean, Meinders School of Business, Oklahoma City University. Tickets for the luncheon are $25. For more information or to register, email darla.booker@sba.gov.

Updated 03-24-2008

Back to Top


Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author