Tway, Uihlein Named Hogan Finalists

Oklahoma State’s Peter Uihlein and Kevin Tway have been named two of the three finalists for the Ben Hogan Award it was announced today by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The Hogan is presented annually to the top men’s Division I, II or , or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

With today’s announcement, Tway and Uihlein made history by becoming the first college teammates to be named as finalists for the Hogan Award during the same season.

A first-team All-Big 12 selection, Tway won the Insperity Invitational after posting a career-best 64 in the opening round. He also finished second in his last two starts at The Aggie Invitational and The Big 12 Championship. Tway has amassed a total of six top-five finishes and eight top-10 finishes in eleven tournaments this season. Only once did he finish outside the top 20 when he tied for 23rd at the Puerto Rico Classic.

This past summer, Tway won the Players Amateur and was runner-up at the Trans-Miss Amateur. The senior from Edmond, Okla.,also advanced to match play at the U.S. Amateur.

The reigning U.S. Amateur Champion, Uihlein won the Sahalee Players Championship and Dixie Amateur as well. He tallied top-10 finishes at the Sunnehanna Amateur, Porter Cup and World Amateur Team Championship. He made the cut this spring at the Tour’s Transitions Championship and also competed at The Masters.

A junior from Orlando, Fla., Uihlein was runner-up at the 2010 Championships and was recently named the Big 12 Player of the Year. Uihlein has claimed medalist honors twice this season at the collegiate level, winning the Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational and The Aggie Invitational. He has posted four other top-five finishes this year with only one finish outside the top 20.

Joining the Cowboy duo as a finalist is freshman Patrick Cantlay.

The three finalists will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 16.

The last player to win the award was current Tour star Rickie Fowler, who became the first-ever freshman winner in 2008.

Updated 05-04-2011

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News