Vote For Cowboys On CWS Legends Team

STILLWATER, Okla. – To commemorate the final year of the College World Series being played in Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium in 2010, the NCAA is creating a CWS Legends Team, and six former Oklahoma State Cowboys are among the nominees for the team. 

The Legends Team will represent those student-athletes who had the best CWS performances in the 60 years the CWS has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium. OSU’s nominees for the team are third baseman Robin Ventura (1986-87), catcher Mike Day (1982-85), designated hitter Pete Incaviglia (1983-85), outfielder Wayne Weatherly (1966-68), pitcher Tom Borland (1954-55) and shortstop Danny Thompson (1968).

Fans can vote online for players they think should be selected as members of the CWS Legends team on the NCAA website at The NCAA will take all voting into consideration prior to making its announcement of the final CWS Legends Team roster.

The Legends Team will include two student-athletes per fielding position, four pitchers, two designated hitters, three head coaches and two utility players. The utility players will be determined after fan voting and will represent those student-athletes deserving recognition who may not have been selected by fans, media and coaches at a particular position.

Those selected to the CWS Legends Team will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium in June and will be honored during the CWS Opening Ceremonies on June 18.

Updated 03-11-2010

Back to Top


email (we never post emails)
  Textile Help

Back to Top

Contact GTR News

About Post Author